To make sure that you get the best chances of winning when filing a claim against an at-fault party in Wisconsin, you need to hire an experienced Wisconsin car accident lawyer to help you with the process.
According to the latest weekly fatality report by the State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation, 432 people have already died from car crashes since the beginning of the year, a number that’s already close to the 492 statistics for 2021.
This means that if you’re living in Wisconsin and you’re a car owner, it’s very important to make sure that your car is properly insured in case you become involved in an accident on Wisconsin’s road.
To get started, you need to know that Wisconsin is a no-fault state. Since it follows a tort system, the law requires that in all car accidents, an “at fault” party must be determined, and the victim can file a case against the “at fault” individual for damages. Here’s what you need to know about the no-fault law:
- Being a fault-based state, Wisconsin law states that the person determined to be “at fault” in a car accident will be financially responsible for all the losses that resulted from the crash. This includes medical expenses due to injuries, damages to the vehicle and properties nearby, lost income, and even non-economic damages like trauma and anxiety.
- Wisconsin requires that all vehicles registered in the state should have car insurance or other forms of financial security like personal funds and a certificate of self-insurance.
A car insurance policy should also follow the minimum amount of coverage according to the law: a $25,000 liability coverage for injury or death of a person in an accident caused by the at-fault driver, a $50,000 liability coverage for total bodily injury or death liability and a $10,000 liability coverage for property damage for every accident that the vehicle is involved in.
The insurance company will cover all the liabilities resulting from the accident. If that policy is exhausted, the at-fault party must find ways to cover the expenses using their personal funds.
- The law also requires uninsured motorist coverage, which the Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance explains: “This kind of coverage applies to bodily injury you, your family, and other occupants of your vehicle incur when hit by an uninsured motorist or a hit-and-run driver.
It also covers you and your family if injured as a pedestrian when struck by an uninsured motorist or a hit-and-run driver.” The minimum coverage amount should be $25,000 per person or $50,000 per accident.
These lawyers have handled similar cases and know the Wisconsin tort system extensively, so they will be able to help you get documentation, compile evidence and build a strong case that will allow you to get the maximum compensation for everything that you experienced after the car accident.
By working with the right lawyer, you increase your chances of winning your case.